Department of Chemistry

Brief Profile of the Department

The Chemistry Department was introduced as P.G. Centre of Calcutta University from 1976 with M. Sc. student intake capacity of 16 to fulfill the demand of the students of Tripura State. First of all only the Analytical Chemistry specialization was introduced in M.Sc. Part-II course. In due course, the P.G. Centre (Chemistry Department) of Calcutta University became the full-fledged Department of Tripura University from 2nd October, 1987. With the recruitment of faculty members in Chemistry Department, the Department started three special papers viz. Inorganic, Organic and Physical chemistry in M.Sc. Part-II. The state funded Tripura University was converted in to Central University w.e.f. 2nd July, 2007 and the Department of Chemistry has got new dimensions of expansion.

Year of Establishment:

1976 (Calcutta University’s P.G. Centre) Department of Chemistry of Tripura University (state) on 2nd October, 1987; Department of Chemistry of Tripura University (Central) on 2nd July, 2007.

Head of the Department:

Prof. S. Majumdar

Major thrust Area of Research

  • Synthetic inorganic chemistry, Co-ordination chemistry; metal complexes
  • Synthetic organic methodology, ionic liquids, synthesis of bioactive molecules, natural product chemistry
  • Quantum chemistry, surfactants and colloids

Courses Offered:

  1. M. Sc. in Chemistry with specialization in Inorganic chemistry, Organic Chemistry and Physical Chemistry– four semester
  2. Post Graduate Diploma in Rubber Technology – two semester
  3. Pre-Ph. D. Course work – one semester

Intake Capacity:

M. Sc. in Chemistry = 30
PG. Diploma in Rubber Technology = 30

Syllabus of the various courses:

  • Post Graduate: Download
  • Post Graduate Diploma: Download
  • Ph.D. Course Work: Download
  • Research Eligibility Test (RET): Download

Seminar / Conference / Workshop / Refresher / Orientations etc. Organized

  • Lecture on Proteolytic Enzymes of PCSK Family in Health and Diseases: Implications and Disease Intervention Strategies, 16th April, 2014
Event titleDateOrganized by
National Conference on Colloids and Emulsions of Natural and Synthetic Systems February 2 – 4, 1996 Department of Chemistry, Tripura University
National Symposium on Recent Challenges in Chemistry 29 -31 March, 2001 Department of Chemistry, Tripura University.
National Seminar on ‘Impacts of Chemistry in life and Society’ October 1-3, 2004  
State level Seminar on ‘Frontier areas of Chemistry’ on the occasion of 150th Birth Anniversary of Acharjya P. C. Ray. September 03, 2010 Department of Chemistry, Tripura University.
State level seminar-cum awareness programme on ‘Global Climate Changes and Clean Development mechanism: Issues and Impact’ under NAPCC, Govt. of India September 06, 2010. Department of Chemistry, TU and Sponsored by Department of Scienece, Technology & Environment, Govt. of Tripura
Fifteenth National Conference on surfactants, Emulsions and Biocolloids -2011 December 27-29, 2011. Department of Chemistry, TU and Indian society for the Surface Science and Technology
International Conference on Emerging Areas of Chemistry Jauaary, 12-14, 2011. Department of Chemistry, TU in association with IACS & IICB

Address of Communication:

Department of Chemistry, Tripura University, PIN- 799022
email: hod_chemistry[at]

Laboratory Facilities:

Major equipments available (each over one lakh):

  1. UV-VIS Spectrophotometer(Perkin-Elmer Lamda-25)
  2. Systronics UV-VIS spectrophotometer Type-117
  3. Fluorimeter (Schimardzu)
  4. Gas-Chromatograph(Chemito)
  5. Cyclic Voltameter
  6. Electronic balance(Mettler)
  7. FT-IR
  8. Rotary Evaporator with cold bath circulator

Details of Research groups:

  1. Organic Chemistry – Natural and Synthetic Organic chemistry
  2. Inorganic Chemistry – metal complexes and co-ordination chemistry
  3. Physical Chemistry – Theoretical quantum chemistry, polymer and surface chemistry


Dr. S. Majumdar, Reader of this Department have collaborative project with Dr. A. Basak, Department of Biochemistry and Immunology, University of Ottawa, CANADA under the Canadian Institute of Health Research (CIHR) CANADA-HOPE fellowship programme.

Other Information (if any):

Total RET qualified students working in the Department: 14
SessionName of the Student
2008 - 2009 Banti Ganguly
Pranajit Pal
Dipankar Dey
2009 - 10 Jhinuk De
Rajarshi Banik
Sanghita Bhattacharjee
Jayasree Nath
Ranajit Ghosh
20010-2011 Smita Majumdar
Amitabha Sharma
Sanjit Sutradhar
Sharmila Sarkar
Dipak banik
Chitraniva Dutta

Ph.D. Scholars

PhotoNameTitle of ThesisContact Details
Amitava Sharma ab-initio computational study of potential energy surfaces of ionized states of simple molecules applying eip-vumrcc method with and without full connected triple excitation cc operators. Ph:+91-9436510935
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Nandita Das "Synthesis, Characterization, Structure and Reactivity Studies on Hetero-ligand Peroxotungsten(VI) Complexes” Ph: 91-9774805705
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Arnab Bhattacharya “Synthesis, Characterization and DFT studies of Copper and Rhenium Complexes with some N, O and S Donor Ligands” Ph:+91-9774146166
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Mithun Chakraborty “Studies on the Synthesis of Enantiomerically Pure Heterocycles Containing Quaternary α-Amino Acid Stereocenter” Ph:+91-9774304378
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Sanjit Sutradhar “Synthesis and characterization of complexes of some transition metal ions with some dithiolate and amine ligands” Ph:+91-9436469546
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Sanjoy Sarkar “Synthesis, Structural Characterization and Reactivity Studies with Some Zinc and Manganese Complexes with Nitrogen, Oxygen donor Ligands” Ph:+91-9863331802
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Non Teaching Staffs & Contact Details

PhotoNameDesignationContact Details
Sri Sudhir Ghosh Sr. Laboratory Attendent Ph:
Sri Pijush Kanti Roy Jr. Laboratory Attendent Ph:
Sri Harisadhan Debnath Peon Ph:
Chaity Bhattacharjee Group C Ph:09862519913
© Tripura University                                                                                                                                                      Designed By : Via Vitae Solutions